Regional Journalism Honors 2020

District Journalism Students Receive Recognition
This is the image for the news article titled District Journalism Students Receive RecognitionJournalism students from Park Hill and Park Hill South high schools earned honors at the virtual awards ceremony for the Journalism Educators of Metropolitan Kansas City competition.

Justin Ford is the broadcast journalism teacher at both high schools. Megan Carnes is the print journalism teacher at PHHS, and Megan Palmer is the print journalism teacher at Park Hill South.


“Trojan TV News” (Alicia Stout, executive director, and Thomas Wineinger, executive producer), first place, overall broadcast sweepstakes award

“Trojan TV News” (staff, Executive Director Rylie Estes and Executive Producer Thomas Wineinger), first place, broadcast announcements show

Shelby Fletcher, first place, yearbook sports action shot

Andrew Hrisak and Alicia Stout, first place, broadcast show open

Soon Jen Pak, first place, broadcast news story

“Trojan TV News” (staff, Executive Director Alicia Stout and Executive Producer Thomas Wineinger), second place, broadcast announcements video show

Shelby Fletcher and Thomas Wineinger, second place, broadcast anchor team 

Chloe Strickland and Jake Walter, second place, broadcast sports highlights

Alicia Stout and Salome Yimer, third place, broadcast sports feature

“Troyian” yearbook (designers Azalea Calderon and Brenna Powers), honorable mention, yearbook sports design

Gabby Rivera Kroenke, honorable mention, yearbook feature writing

Park Hill South

Austin Kinsey, first place, newspaper review writing 

Aidan Leeson and Mary Garrett, first place, broadcast sports highlights

“The South Side Scoop” (Executive Producer Mary Garrett and Executive Director Tatum Lierman), second place, broadcast announcements show

Sofia Fatino, third place, yearbook copy writing