2018 Cappies Nominations

District Theater Students Nominated for Cappies Awards
This is the image for the news article titled  District Theater Students Nominated for Cappies AwardsStudents from Park Hill High School received nominations from the Kansas City Cappies for their work in the school play and musical.

This program trains high-school theater and journalism students to be critics who attend shows at other schools, write reviews and publish those reviews in local papers. At the end of the school year, the student critics vote on the awards to present during the Cappies Gala on May 26 at Lee’s Summit High School.

Jennifer Jarman Sandau is the theater director, Suzannah Smith is the orchestra director, Dr. Keith Curington is the music director and Liz Henderson is the accompanist.

Marketing and Publicity
Caitlin Crosby, Laklynn Hanlon, Lauren Szala, Meghan Webb — “The Secret Garden”

Special Effects and or Technology
Caytie Conner — “The Secret Garden”

Jonathan Russ — “The Secret Garden”

Caytie Conner — “The Secret Garden”

“The Secret Garden” orchestra:
  • Bella Farrell
  • Brooke Lysaught
  • Brooklynn Pierce
  • Carl Laude
  • Connor Bollmann
  • Elizabeth Appel
  • Emily King
  • Eunice Jung
  • Gillian Hance
  • Grant Hanson
  • Juliet Kim
  • Justin Galang
  • Kai Shafe
  • Kayla Stites
  • Molly Foster
  • Soon Jen Pak
  • Sydney Nolte
  • Zach Howard
Caitlin Crosby — “Twelve Angry Men”

Stage Crew
Trinity Christofferson, Amy Goldsbury, Allison Strauss — “The Secret Garden”

Female Vocalist
Sarah Storm — “The Secret Garden”

Outstanding Female Critic
Ashley Gilland

Outstanding Male Critic
Lawrence Suba

Outstanding Critic Team
Ashley Gilland
Caitlin Crosby
Cooper Sturm
Dylan Klann
Laklynn Hanlon
Lauren Szala
Lawrence Suba
Meghan Webb
Trinity Christofferson