Journalism Recognition

Park Hill South High School Journalism Students Earn Honors
This is the image for the news article titled Park Hill South High School Journalism Students Earn HonorsPark Hill South High School journalism students earned national recognition at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Delaney Barnicle, junior, yearbook layout or theme

Samantha Oathout, senior, sports copy and captions

Honorable Mention
Elyssa Bezner, sophomore, newswriting; Lieana Sherry, senior, review writing; Maddie Anderson, senior, sports action photography

“The View” was a finalist for the NSPA 2016 Newspaper Pacemaker Award. Its staff included Jack Beuerlein, junior; Colin Brockert, senior; Baylee Brown, senior; Brandon Crabtree, junior;
Hailey Deeds, junior; Spencer Denney, senior; Emily Ditto, senior; Adam Frazier, senor; Daniel Geary, senior; Hannah Graves, junior; Morgan Greer; Allie Hickey, senior; Olivia Kinsey, senior; Jacob Kline, senior; Lexi Maddox, senior; Izzy Pieper, senior; Ryan Powers, senior, Anna Preuss, senior; Anne Price, junior; Chase Putnam, senior; Jake Springer, senior; Hallie Vandeven, junior; and Bret Vanice, junior. It also included graduates Alex Rothers, Vivian Brockman, Nick Claassen, Collins Beatty, Gena Cockrell, Carson Cavitt-Wells, Emary Langhorn, Sydney Lowe, Ashley Pasley, Julia Ponko, Brady Smith, Jesse Stamper, Tate Summa, Ryan Welty and Brooke Yager.

The “South Side Scoop” broadcast is also a national finalist for the Pacemaker Award. Its staff included Miranda Steczak, senior; Madison Flynn, junior; and graduates Jordan Bell, Ashton Dittmer, Tyler Espinosa, Kelly Green, Tyler Koch, Connor Locke, Ashley Pasley, Caleb Seymour, Kyle Sims and Nehal Sutariya.

Megan Palmer is the yearbook and newspaper teacher at Park Hill South, and Justin Ford is the broadcast journalism teacher for Park Hill South.